Proverbs Chapter 15

openmyeyes

Tonight I read Proverbs 15 before going for a run with my daughter.  I’m still trying to catch my breath.  It has been awhile since I’ve run anywhere.  I’m also making dinner and then we are doing our nails.  It’s girl’s night!! 🙂  I love nights like these!  So my time is very valuable to me, and it would be easy not to find time to read my bible and write here, but I feel like God wants to say something.  I used to be so confused when I read Proverbs.  It kind of sounds like a bunch of riddles, especially some translations and they just didn’t make much sense to me.  That was before.  Now, I understand why it’s called the “living” word of God.  It really gives us “life” in a completely simple yet challenging way.  Let’s start with the way that we talk.  In verse 1 it says, “a gentle answer turns away wrath”…. It totally makes sense, if you think about it.  So, why aren’t we “gentle” with our words all of the time?  See, simple, yet challenging.  Verse 4 says, “the soothing tongue is a tree of life” … that’s pretty powerful.  As Christians, if we are meant to be Christ like than we came to heal the sick and raise people from the dead, give life.  It can be as simple as the words that we speak to encourage another, giving hope, and opening hearts to one true love, the one who gave us life.   So much needs to change in the world, but where do we start?  We start with the heart.  First our own.  Why is it important to read the bible?  To have a relationship with Christ?  It gives life to our heart.  And then we can allow Christ to walk with us on our journey here as we give life to the hearts of others, which also gives life to our own hearts, again.  It’s a double win!!  Verse 13 says, “A happy heart makes the face cheerful, but heartache crushes the spirit.” The best way to feed a hungry heart is with the love of Christ and the freedom that this love brings to our souls.

Now it’s time to ask ourselves… what is it that you want me to see, God?  How does this apply to my life?  What do you want me to do?  Now let’s listen to His gentle, sweet, voice that gives life to us all.

Leave a comment